‘Dirty Dancing’ turns 20, hits the big screen again

In honor of its 20th anniversary, Dirty Dancing will return to theaters for two nights only.  You’ll be able to watch Johnny (Patrick Swayze) and Baby (Jennifer Grey) have the time of their life on May 1st and May 2nd at 7:30 p.m. only in selected theaters.  To find a theater in your area showing this ’80s gem, visit www.dirtydancing.com.

Dirty Dancing turns 20I recently wrote a post about my Top 10 ’80s movies and of course Dirty Dancing was on it.  This movie has been one of my favorites, but I didn’t realize the extent of its impact until 2000.  That year, a 19-year-old intern from Italy spent five months working for me in the tourism industry.  Until she had time to make friends here, I showed her around on the weekends.  When I asked her what she wanted to do most, I was a little shocked to hear that she wanted to watch Dirty Dancing in English.  She’d seen it many times in Italian — apparently it’s just as popular there as it is here — but wanted to watch it as it was originally recorded.  In addition to the viewing, I made sure she went home with an American version of the movie.

Similarly, I had always thought of Dirty Dancing as a chick flick.  My husband has never shown an interest in it (maybe he just doesn’t want to watch it for the 250th time).  But according to a post in CinemaBlend, it’s very popular with the men as well.  However, I’m sure for different reasons.  ;-)

Nobody puts Baby in the cornerIf the movie wasn’t enough, Dirty Dancing has moved to the stage, according to USA Today.  In 1994, the musical opened in Australia to much acclaim.  Since then the musical has toured in Germany and London.  It’ll be in Toronto this spring and the USA in 2008.  The writer and co-producer of the movie version of Dirty Dancing, Eleanor Bergstein also wrote and created the musical as her answer to requests for a sequel.  To sweeten the pot, the stage version has added scenes.

A coming-of-age movie about a timeless romance with great music and hot dance moves, Dirty Dancing, which was originally released on August 21, 1987, has definitely influenced several generations.  I think its just as popular today as when I first saw it.  You’d be hard press to find someone that doesn’t know what “Nobody puts Baby in a corner” means.  The movie has been referenced in numerous other movies and TV shows. 

Johnny and BabyMy favorite reference, however, has to be in this year’s How I Met Your Mother when Barney flashes back to the first time he had sex and describes it as a scene from Dirty Dancing.

Well, we will all be able to get our Dirty Dancing fix this summer.  In addition to the re-release of the film on the big screen, you’ll be able to pick up a 20th anniversary of the movie on DVD on May 8.  DVD extras included a new interview with Patrick Swayze and a tribute to the late Jerry Orbach (Law & Order) who played Baby’s father, Jake Houseman.  Orbach died in 2004.

Also being released May 8 is a newly remastered version of the Dirty Dancing soundtrack on CD.  This CD will include a bonus DVD featuring photos and music videos.

Baby carries a watermelonIn addition, Target will be featuring a whole new line of Dirty Dancing merchandise featuring everything from clothing to video games to figurines.  Personally I’m trying to decide between two t-shirts.  One says “Johnny Castle taught me all my moves” and the other says “I carried a watermelon.”  Maybe I’ll splurge and get both.

Johnny Castle, dance instructorIf you still haven’t gotten your fill of Dirty Dancing, visit Mountain Lake in Pembroke, VA where the movie was filmed for a Dirty Dancing weekend complete with dance lessons.  Do you think they could guarantee that Johnny Castle would be my instructor?  Now that could be the time of my life!

For some reason my husband turned down the opportunity to watch Dirty Dancing again, even on the big screen.  I swore not to get up and demonstrate any dance moves.  I even promised him that I wouldn’t drool too much over Patrick Swayze, but also he wouldn’t do it.  Still I had no shortage of girlfriends willing to hit the theater will me.  So I’ll be seeing you at the theaters on May 1st.  And maybe again on May 2nd.

(photos courtesy of dirtydancing.com)

8 Responses to ‘Dirty Dancing’ turns 20, hits the big screen again

  1. IndianPad says:

    ‘Dirty Dancing’ turns 20, hits the big screen again

    ‘Dirty Dancing’ turns 20, hits the big screen again posted at IndianPad.com

  2. ‘Dirty Dancing’ turns 20, hits the big screen again

    Liked what you just read here ? Vote for it on Blogmemes ! In honor of its 20th anniversary, Dirty Dancing will return to theaters for two nights only. You’ll be able to watch Johnny (Patrick Swayze) and Baby (Jennifer Grey) have the time of their li…

  3. stacy teters says:

    dirty dancing has been apart of my life since i was a little girl. my granny, cousins and myself used to watch it over and over again. to this day even though my granny has passed on and my cousins and i have went different places in our lives i still keep dirty dancing alive in my home. i think it was the greatest movie of all times in my book. patrick swayze and jennifer was amazing and i am still in love with them today as i was when i was a child.exspecialy patrick swayze.lol. thanks for your time.

    stacy, from tn.

  4. […] get the Rolling Roadshow out to Smith Mountain Lake in Virginia for the 20th anniversary of Dirty Dancing.  Now, I have to figure out how to get my husband to head to Santa Cruz at the end of July. Hmm . […]

  5. […] to catch a special viewing of the timeless classic Dirty Dancing in honor of the film’s 20th anniversary.  As one friend described it, the experience was more intense that I remembered […]

  6. amy says:

    dirty dancing is the best movie ever patrick is soooo fit

  7. elsie says:

    i love to dirty dancing its has been great to see the beautiful scenes on where it was made it.couple of years ago my uncle had took me to see the place .nice place

  8. elsie says:

    i love to watch the movie

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

