‘Hole in the Wall’ Leaving a Hole in My Head

I’m not a big fan of prime time game shows.  In fact, I don’t currently (nor have I in a very long time) have any in my must see TV programs list.

Fox is cashing in on this Japanese game show.

Fox is cashing in on this Japanese game show.

But that said, it doesn’t mean that I’m not a fan of games shows in general.  I’ve already talked about my love for Bob Barker’s The Price is Right.  I don’t mind taking in reruns of Jeopardy, Wheel of Fortune or even Family Feud once in a while.  I just don’t feel the need to see them during prime time.

Recently, I caught some episodes of a new game show called Hole in the Wall.  I’m not sure how I saw episodes of this show before it premiered Thursday, but I did – at least three times.  Once someone else had it on the television already, another time my husband found it flipping through channels and Tuesday it came on after Fringe

Normally, I might glance for a few minutes at one of these types of shows and move on, but not with this show.   All three times I got sucked in and watch a half hour.

Holes are in patterns for one, two or three team members.

Holes are in patterns for one, two or three team members.

Here’s the premise:  Teams of three must contort their bodies to match the shape of the hole in the wall so that when the wall moves at them they can pass through it instead of being pushed into the water.  It’s based on a Japanese game show.

This concept is by no means brain surgery.  But, in fact, it’s harder than it sounds and maybe that’s what sucked me in.

But at the same time I’m a bit ashamed that I’d waste my time with this level of crap at all.  It’s not like I don’t watch enough TV as is.

It’s not that the show is too easy. I can’t say that it doesn’t require skill.  But it’s more like who cares that you have the ability to shape your body like a hole in the wall.

My husband and I spent the last episode wondering what would make someone consider even competing on the show.  The money isn’t all the great (unless you beat the blind wall and I’ve yet to see anyone do it and judging by the communication skills of the contests I don’t see it happening anytime soon).  It can’t be for the bragging rights.  I mean, who wants to say I jumped through a hole in the wall touch me?

Remember when it meant something to make the cut for a game show that tested your knowledge like Jeopardy.  Or when the show tested your abilities on consumer smartness like in The Price is Right, spelling skills in the Wheel of Fortune or even trivial knowledge in Family Feud.

But now we are just jumping through walls.  Where’s the pride in that?

By husband and I were also astonished at the studio audience.  Please tell me that these people didn’t wait in line for tickets to see this!  Maybe they are all just family and friends of the contestants.

And what about the hosts?  It used to be that there was an art to being a game show host.  It required some pizzazz.  Not just anyone could be Bob Barker or Alec Trebek.  But it seems to be that a game show host these days is just a job when your career is flailing.  I swear, that Brooke Burke shouted (as in volume, not disrespectful) at the contests through the whole show.  No pizzazz there.

But I guess if there’s people like me out there watching this junk then it’ll remain on.  Ok, I’ve watched it and now I’ve written about it.  My new goal is to avoid Hole in the Head – I mean Wall.

Seriously, I felt like it was actually draining brain cells while I watch it.

But if you are desperately bored, you can catch an episode on Thursdays at 8 p.m. on Fox.

One Response to ‘Hole in the Wall’ Leaving a Hole in My Head

  1. rcrawford79 says:

    Nija Warrior on G4 is at the top of my list. I will have to say my twins like also…if you catch my wife on a good day, she will admit it too.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

