Bring on the Boys of Summer

Nothing says summer is on its way like the start of baseball season.  For me, baseball season is a rite of passage into the lazy days of summer.

Baseball is meant to be enjoyed at a slow and relaxing pace.  The best way to watch baseball is lounging in the bleachers behind home plate with the sun beating down on your scoresheet as you cheer on the home team with a bag of peanuts and a frosty beverage in the other.

I read an article in the Washington Post about a woman trying to become a baseball fan in one season.  I applaud her for her effort, but wonder if she’ll be succesful. 

She’s prepped for opening day by reading a preview guide.  But I don’t think that the stats will mean much to her until she understands the game — and to understand the game, you must watch it in person.

Richmond BravesBaseball is slow enough paced that after a few games and a good teacher she should be able to understand the basics — that is if she can free herself of her “busy life” (her words, not mine), at least momentarily, to really enjoy baseball.

To truly love baseball,  one must embrace it.  I’m a Alpha Mom complete with career, kids, friends and hobbies, but when I’m at a baseball game the rest of the world ceases to exist.

In fact, my family and I look forward to baseball games for that exact reason.  It gives us a break from our hectic lives, a chance to enjoy something together without the phone ringing or the pager going off.  Baseball forces (in a good way) me to relax, to sit back and enjoy life — if only for seven innings.

Baseball is not for the impetuous.  You must watch patiently as each play leisurely unfolds.  One pitch could take five minutes  — the pitcher takes his position, gets a sign from the catcher, waives it off, gets another until he finds the one he wants, checks the runners, throws to a base to assure a runner that stealing will not be tolerated, finally he winds up and releases.  Then we start all over again.

But you can take time between plays to enjoy the beautiful weather or the excellent company that you are with.

My kids were barely two months old when they went to their first game and we’ve been every year since.  Baseball is a great family activity.  And we are lucky enough to have a minor league team in our town.

So sit back, relax in the beautiful weather and enjoy a leisurely game of baseball, cheering on the home team.  Spend some quality time with the famly and bring on the boys of summer!  Play Ball!!!!

7 Responses to Bring on the Boys of Summer

  1. marcys says:

    Nice post. I only got into baseball seven years ago, in 2000, with my son as my teacher. And now I’m writing about it. You’re right–it’s thoroughly relaxing. The slowness of the game is key.

  2. ktpooh3 says:

    I love this post. It’s nice when you meet other people that love the game just as much as you. I hate the down season but it lets me catch up on my other sports. I play softball for two teams and this year my son gets to play his first t-ball game ever. Exciting. I like your blog also. I will read it from time to time. Thanks. Katie

  3. vacelts says:

    Thanks Katie. I wish your son luck in t-ball. You’ll have to write me back and tell me how he likes it.

  4. reliasson says:

    Roy Eliasson Wote . I herd t-ball was a not to good for kids . Mys friend had his kid in t-ball and it board him to death. Dont get me wrong i am a big baseball fan and intend to coach, but when i went to my first t-ball game with my son it was a little silly kids got boad very quick. The have a amall attention spn at that age.Roy Eliasson will wait till coach pitch. play in the back yard till then

  5. vacelts says:

    Roy, t-ball is not the same as baseball for sure. But I still can’t wait until my kids are old enough to play t-ball. It’s the first step to a lifelong affair with baseball.

  6. reliasson says:

    Roy eliasson i here you i was very excited as well . have you gone to a t-ball game yet ? roy eliasson

  7. reliasson says:

    Roy Eliasson how is t-ball going my boy want to do soccer and my girl want to shop Roy Eliasson

Leave a Reply

