New Study Confirms that Dieting Does Not Work

Not that this tidbit is breaking news for anyone who’s every tried to diet, but a new study shows that dieting does not work.  See I knew there was a reason why I never tried it!

According to this study out of UCLA, you might initially lose 5 to 10 pounds on a diet, but you will gain it back when you stop dieting.  In other words, to keep the weight off you must continue to diet.  Oh what an awful idea — a lifetime a dieting 😦  In my opinion, that’s just not worth it for a measly 10 pounds.

In fact, the report suggests that you’d be better off not to diet at all.

“What happens to people on diets in the long run?” said Traci Mann, UCLA associate professor of psychology and lead author of the study. “Would they have been better off to not go on a diet at all? We decided to dig up and analyze every study that followed people on diets for two to five years. We concluded most of them would have been better off not going on the diet at all. Their weight would be pretty much the same, and their bodies would not suffer the wear and tear from losing weight and gaining it all back.”  

In fact, continually losing and gaining weight could actually be bad for your health.  It has been linked to cardiovascular disease, stroke, diabetes and altered immune function.  Good news for me.  Now I can justify not going on all those diets!

The study does, however, suggest that you should eat in moderation and exercise regularly.  Well with two two-year-olds on the loose, I get plenty of opportunities to exercise as I try to keep up with them, and usually I have very little time left to eat, let alone overeat.

The moral of the story is that the fad diet you’re thinking about trying really is nothing more than a fad.  Now I’m off to have a cookie (just one) and get some sleep before my next round with the toddlers.

4 Responses to New Study Confirms that Dieting Does Not Work

  1. asdf says:

    Following a fad opinion, “diets don’t work, look at the study bla bla” will not make you smarter. You will embarrass yourself in front of readers who know better.

  2. […] Post on Diet Study Upsets Pro-Ana Group Apparently my recent post about a new study that confirms that dieting does not work has ruffled the feathers of a Pro-Ana […]

  3. Heather says:

    Hello Exausted Mother of Twins: I wanted to let you know that you should let the Pro-Ana’s comments roll right off your back, they stalk me because I “troll” their sites in an effort to expose their sites to parents.

    You may be interested in my blog here http://mamaVISION.com

    I hope you and the twins are doing well! I have two children, my son is 4 and my daughter is 7 so life is a bit easier these days,

    Take Care!
    -Heather
    (aka mamaV)

  4. vacelts says:

    Heather, thanks so much for the encouragement. I knew that anerexia was epidemic, but I had no idea before this post that there was a whole group that accepted this as a way of life. And the thought that they could be encouraging others is scary, especially to those of us with daughters. Keep up the good work. I’ll be sure to check out your website.

Leave a Reply

