Hanks signed on for Da Vinci Code Prequel

According to CinemaBlend,  Tom Hanks has signed on to reprise his role as professor Robert Langdon in the prequel to Dan Brown’s Da Vinci Code. Angels & Demons is scheduled to be released in December 2008.

Da Vinci CodeWhile I think that Da Vinci Code was a good book, I personally believe Angels & Demons is Dan Brown’s best work.  I’ll admit to not reading the books in order, but I’m not sure that would change my mind.

Angels & Demons just seemed to flow better.  It had a lot more action, more mystery and really kept me on the edge of my seat. 

My love of the book aside, I’m not sure if I like the idea of Angels & Demons being put on the big screen.

Controversy aside, I liked Da Vinci Code book, but the previews didn’t make me want to run to the theater to see the movie.  After finally seeing it on DVD, I have to agree with Mr. Davis at Cinematical, the movie was a bore.

I don’t think it portrayed the same suspense and intrigue the book had.  Unfortunately, so much had to be cut from the book to keep the movie to a reasonable time that I thought it was hard to follow — and I had read the book first.

I’m afraid the same thing will happen to Angels & Demons.  It’s another packed book, but all the details are essential to the story.  The action will keep a good pace in the movie, but without the clues along the way will viewers be able to follow the movie?  And what’s worse is that I heard a rumor that the studio is going to bill Angels & Demons as a sequel to Da Vinci Code.  At least Ron Howard is expected to return as director.

Personally, I looking more forward to another book by Dan Brown than another movie of one of his books.  But we’ll have to wait and see.

(Photo courtesy of imdb.com)

3 Responses to Hanks signed on for Da Vinci Code Prequel

  1. Well, let’s hope that Tim Hanks hair will at least look better in this second outing.

  2. vacelts says:

    What? Your college professors didn’t look like that?

  3. rcrawford79 says:

    Let’s hope Hanks is not as stiff in this film. The producers/writers really missed the boat on the 1st film.

Leave a Reply

