Top 10 ’80s Movies I Can’t Live Without

Here are the Top 10 ’80s movies that I cannot live without.  Let me warn you this list isn’t about box office blockbusters or award-winning films.  No, these movies are hits of my youth and remind me of a time when I had few cares and was focused on the living in the moment.

This list is about those movies that I watch when I need a pick me up.  These films are what my husband calls “sick day” movies — you know, you watch them when you are sick.  These movies are the ones I watch when I don’t want to be challenged intellectually, when I don’t want to be educated, when I don’t want to be wowed with their artsy perspective — just when I just want to be entertained.

Here’s my Top 10 ’80s movies:

The Lost Boys1. The Lost Boys (1987)
What’s not to love about this teen angst movie filled with sexy vamps.  The movie’s tagline says it all:  “Party all night.  Sleep all day.  Never grow old.  Never die.  It’s fun to be a vampire.”

2.  The Breakfast Club (1985)
The original brat pack movie, proved that we are all misfits.  It didn’t matter what click we belonged to or what walk of life we came from, the teenage years were hard on us all.  And this movie made me very thankful that my high school never had Saturday detention.

3.  St. Elmo’s Fire (1985)
In high school we all dreamed about the time when we would finally be out of high school and living the “high life.”  This movie taught us that growing up isn’t as easy as it looks.  Now looking back, this movie makes me appreciate my life — no matter how much I’ve screwed up, at least I’ve managed better than this group.

Eddie and the Cruisers4.  Eddie and the Cruisers (1983)
Although a bit obscure, this movie is one great rock ‘n roll film.  I absolutely love the music in this movie.  Who hasn’t wondered about life in a hit rock ‘n roll band?

5.  Dirty Dancing (1987)
It’s not the timeless love story that does it for me.  It’s the dancing.  I love a movie with guys that dance well — especially if one of them is Patrick Swayze!   And remember, “nobody puts Baby in a corner.”

6.  Goonies (1985)
Who doesn’t want to go on this adventure with the “goonies” with a lost pirate map through booby traps to find a hidden treasure to save their parents and their homes?  Ahh, to be that young and impetuous again . . .  And did I mention Sloth?  I’ve never look at a Baby Ruth the same again.

7.  Beetle Juice (1988)
You gotta love a movie where you cheer for the dead guys!  By and far one of Michael Keaton’s best performances.  Just the right blend of spooky, funny and imagination. 

8.  Ghost Busters (1984)
Stay Puft Marshmellow ManThe Stay Puft Marshmallow Man?  Need I say more.  Seriously, this movie had a fabulously funny cast that will have you shouting “Ghost Busters” every time you hear someone say “Who ya going to call?”

9.  Weekend at Bernie’s (1989)
No matter how bad I’m feeling, at least I’m better off than Bernie.  This movie is every working joe’s revenge for an unsatisfying job (or at least unsatisfying day on the job).

10.  Sixteen Candles (1984)
Everyone’s had a less than stellar birthday where they felt like they were forgotten.  John Hughes gives us a reason to appreciate even those birthdays in this romantic comedy about the difficulties of growing up. 

I know each of you have a list like mine.  What movies are on yours?

12 Responses to Top 10 ’80s Movies I Can’t Live Without

  1. IndianPad says:

    Top 10 ’80s Movies I Can’t Live Without

    Top 10 ’80s Movies I Can’t Live Without posted at IndianPad.com

  2. Top 10 ’80s Movies I Can’t Live Without

    Liked what you just read here ? Vote for it on Blogmemes ! Here are the Top 10 ’80s movies that I cannot live without. Let me warn you this list isn’t about box office blockbusters or award-winning films. No, these movies are hits of my youth and r…

  3. rcrawford79 says:

    What about the Blues Brothers (1980)?

  4. Molly says:

    Good call on The Lost Boys.
    Did Pretty Woman come out in the GrEighties? I thought St. Elmo’s fire was a dog movie. Where the heck is An Officer and a Gentlemen on your list? or Flashdance? Oh, and Field of Dreams?

  5. vacelts says:

    I totally concur with the suggestions for Blues Brothers (1980) and Field of Dreams(1989). Can I change this to my Top 12?

    Pretty Woman came out in 1990. I’ll save that one for a future post.

    I never really got into An Officer and a Gentleman (1982). And while I loved Flashdance (1983) when it came out, it hasn’t stood the test of time in my library.

    Thanks so much for all your comments.

  6. Diane says:

    I like the movies you mentioned. Also I would like to include some other great movies I really enjoyed in the 80’s such as Steven Spielbergs Raiders of the lost Ark and Indiana Jones & the last Crusade full of action, romance, and some humor. There was also the Lethal Weapons sequels with Mel Gibson and Danny Glover, who made a great pair of cops, also action packed plots, and of course a handsome Mel ! ! :-). For a good ol’ texas humor, there was the Best Little Whorehouse in Texas with Dolly Parton and Burt Reynolds, but I do enjoy Dolly’s singing. Another sit on the edge, action movie was Top Gun with Tom Cruise. I also enjoyed Splash with Tom Hanks and directed by Ron Howard, and Who Framed Roger Rabbit produced by Steven Spielberg for a good state-of-the-art technology produced movie combining animation and real life characters. Just to name of few of the 80’s great movies that are still pretty good today.

  7. […] recently wrote a post about my Top 10 ’80s movies and of course Dirty Dancing was on it.  This movie has been one of my favorites, but I […]

  8. vacelts says:

    Out of the three Indiana Jones movies, my favorite was Indian Jones and the Last Crusade (1989). But the other two — Raider os the Lost Ark (1981) and Indian Jones and the Temple of Doom (1984) — wouldn’t make my list of all time favorites.

    Only two of the Lethal Weapons wer in the ’80s, 1987 and 1989 respectively. I’m just not sure which of the two is my favorite.

    My mom wouldn’t let me watch The Best Little Whorehouse in Texas (1982) when it came out so it never really stuck with me.

    Top Gun (1986) and Who Framed Roger Rabbit (1988) are definately an oversight on my part. However, Spash (1984) didn’t make a huge splash with me.

  9. […] Lost Boys’ part of the 2007 Rolling Roadshow The ’80s film, The Lost Boys will be featured as part of the Alamo Drafthouse Cinema’s Rolling Roadshow.  […]

  10. […] ’80s movie going directly to DVD? Is Warner Brothers single-handedly trying to ruin my favorite ’80s movies with less than stellar sequels that go directly to […]

  11. […] Trailer for Lost Boys Sequel Promises to Raise the Stakes Sleep all day.  Party all night.  Never grow old. Never die.Every child of the ‘80s knows this tag line.  It’s from the cult hit The Lost Boys – one of my favorite guilty pleasures. […]

  12. William Torgerson says:

    Say Anything, Weird Science, Sixteen Candles…

Leave a Reply

