‘Friday Night Lights’ picked up for full second season

The freshman series Friday Night Lights has been picked up for a full 22-episode second season, according to TV Guide.  Filming of this authentic Texas-based series will also continue in Austin.

The TaylorsThe drama, based on the 2004 film of the same name, is about high school football in a small Texas town.

To be honest, I approached the series a little tentatively when it first aired.  I had seen the movie.  While I liked the film, it didn’t fall into my list of great, re-watchable sports movies in the same fashion as Hoosiers, a film about high school basketball in a small town.

However, my husband wanted to watch it and I absolutely adore Kyle Chandler who portrays Coach Eric Taylor, so we tuned in.  Boy, am I glad I did.  I am hooked.

I love this show from the great dialogue to the interesting, complex characters.  I can’t help but cheer not only for the team, but the town full of appealing people.  And I love the witty banter between Taylor and his wife (Connie Britton).  This TV show is leaps and bounds better than the movie.

If you haven’t seen this show, I strongly suggest catching up over the summer so you can tune in this fall.

(photo courtesy of NBC)

2 Responses to ‘Friday Night Lights’ picked up for full second season

  1. Diane says:

    What night and time is this show suppose to air?? I have never run across it.

  2. vacelts says:

    It’ll air at 9 p.m. on Friday nights.

Leave a Reply

