‘Heroes’ finale not nearly as explosive as expected

I’ve been prepping myself all week to temper my expectations for the season finale of Heroes.  Seriously, the freshman series has been building for an explosive finale all season long.  How was it every going to live up to hype?  Well, I’m glad I did.  While I think that the season ender was a solid episode, it in no way blew me away.  There were no surprise revelations like the Numbers finale.  It wasn’t even as powerful of an episode as Supernatural’s cliffhanger.

Exploding PeterThe one surprise that caught me off guard was Angela Petrelli’s (Cristina Rose) commitment to Linderman’s (Malcolm McDowell) plan.  She had no trouble continuing with it after Linderman died (by the way, news of his demise traveled fast).  In her conversation with Claire (Hayden Panettiere) in a previous episode, Angela said she regretted her involvement with the justice-league group she was in with Linderman.  Add that to the fact that the Haitian (who was mysteriously absent from the last couple episodes) secretly worked for her and I kept expecting Angela to double cross Linderman.  But she didn’t.  In fact, I think she might be worse than Linderman.

Moreover, who knew Mama Petrelli was so ruthless that she could actually chose one son over the other?  That scene on the Deveaux Building with her talking to Charles Deveaux (Richard Roundtree) was very insightful.  Knowing how cold and calculating Angela is makes you wonder what really happened to Nathan and Peter’s dad.  I wouldn’t put it past her to have offed him because he wouldn’t go along with the destroy New York plan.

Speaking of the Deveaux Building, it was the scene of yet another pivot plot revelation.  Seems that happens a lot there.  I wonder if it was the headquarters for the now defunct justice league group.  It’s obvious that Charles knew Angela and Linderman.  I’m guessing he was part of their group.  Why didn’t Linderman heal him?  What was Charles’ power?  Does it have something to do with his ability to talk to Peter (Milo Ventimiglia) in Peter’s dream?  If so, does that mean Charles might still be alive?  I can’t remember what he “died” from. 

At first I thought Peter had time traveled, but Bennett (Jack Coleman) couldn’t have shaken him awake if he wasn’t there.  I hope we finally get to know more about Charles’ background in Season 2.  He obviously wasn’t in favor of decimating New York.  And if he had a power, I wonder if his daughter did to?  I don’t think it was coincidence that we saw her in this dream/flashback too.

It was nice to see that Nathan (Adrian Pasdar) found his inner good guy and saved the day.  I guess he came through, but just not in the way his mother expected.  However, I didn’t see the need for Nathan to sacrifice himself.  When Ted (Matthew John Armstrong) went supernova, Claire knocked him out to stop him.  Why couldn’t she do that with Peter?  Why couldn’t Peter fly away on his own, especially if he was the chosen one to save the day?

HiroI think the showdown with Peter and Sylar (Zachary Quinto) and Hiro (Masi Oka) was anticlimatic.  But it did leave me with several questions.  Peter should survive the explosion, so where is he?  Sylar obviously isn’t dead, yet.  Where will he turn up next?  Shouldn’t Molly (Adair Tishler) be able to sense that he’s still alive?  Why did Hiro time travel so far back?  I thought he had a handle on his ability to time travel.  Will Matt (Greg Grunberg) and D.L. (Leonard Roberts) survive?

I was very disappointed that Hiro didn’t allow Ando (James Kyson Lee) to come.  I think his bravery earned him a seat at the table.  Also why didn’t Kaito (George Takei) want to come help Hiro eliminate Sylar?  He obviously has parted ways with Linderman.  Why didn’t he take a more active role?  I think there’s definitely more to that story.

Is Bennett really going to take Claire and just head home?  By the way, I love that they finally revealed his first name even if it was a little contrived.  Seems he’d have more of a calling to do more, especially with a name like Noah.  I’d think he’d be on a mission now to stop the company.  He can’t be naive enough to believe that now that Linderman is dead that the company will disband.  Someone, my guess is Angela, will take his place.

Maybe Linderman wasn’t the real leader of the company after all.  Maybe it was the one that Molly says is worse than Sylar, the one that can see her when she thinks about him.  It’ll be interesting to see how they introduce the next big evil foreshadowed in this episode and to find out whether he’s been involved all along.

The peek into Volume II was a nice touch.  I’m still not sure how Hiro traveled so far back in time.  I guess we will be learning more about Hiro and Kaito’s heritage next season when Heroes returns in the fall.  Heroes will share its Monday timeslot with its spin-off Heroes:  Origins

7 Responses to ‘Heroes’ finale not nearly as explosive as expected

  1. H0ser says:

    What I found so interesting about the end of Hiro’s travel back in time is that when he looked up he saw the Icon of the Heroes show. The eclipsed sun. I think that this is an important time in history. Maybe the time when the first hero came to be.

    Could Hiro be the samurai hero that he admired all his life from ages ago? Could his father been telling him stories of his own adventures? I am very intersted to see who the new villain will be. Someone more powerful they Syler? This guy probably has some major psychic abilities if he can see molly when she looks for him.

    When is the season 2 premier?

  2. vacelts says:

    HOser, Charles Deveaux was able to “see” Peter. Do you think he could be the new villain? I think he’s too nice, but I’ve been fooled before.

    I haven’t seen anything yet about when Season 2 will premier.

  3. H0ser says:

    I dont think that Charles is the new villain, he did die after all. Unless he has a way of influencing others through their dreams, and that would have to be able to defy time to do it. Charles seemed to be on equal ground with Peters mother. It seems like those characters are secondary to the new main villain.

    Mr. Sulu seems like a good choice to be the main villain. He has never really been compassionate at all. He also seems to have no problem letting Ando die. I think there will be some interesting details released in season 2 when Hiro’s storyline in ancient Japan heats up.

    I don’t wanna wait 6-9 months for a new episode. The summer goes by slow for me.

  4. rcrawford79 says:

    I found the last act of Heroes not nearly exciting or “must see TV.” I am not sure what occurred after the 7-week layoff, but each episode seems a bit dull and drawn out…even the season finale was anticlimatic. I guess the biggest disappointments were on several fronts – no slobberknocker between Slyer and Peter of any consequence, limited deaths (the creators gave the impress that majority of the Heroes would perish), the end was still more ambiguous than the audience was led to believe it would be. All in all, the Numbers season finally on CBS last week was 10 times more pulse racing than Heroes was. My suggestion, if this is going to be a show on TV with comic book overtones, then I would suggest Jeph Loeb (executive Producer of Hereos, renowned comic book writer, and Lost writer) needs to write a bit more of these episodes than the current writing team. I give this finale a B- or C+.

  5. vacelts says:

    HOser, the latest graphic novel implies that death isn’t an end for all the heroes. Maybe when Charles died he is still able to communicate with others. Maybe that’s why Linderman didn’t heal him so he could move on to this next type of existence and possibly increase his powers. I know its a stretch.

    I like your idea that it’s Kaito, Hiro’s dad. That would explain why we are going so far back into their family history in Volume 2.

    Yes, the summer will be long without Heroes. I hope they will at least keep up the graphic novels over the summer. It’ll give us a little fix.

  6. vacelts says:

    rcrawford79, Do you think the lack of a more spectacular finale, specifically the showdown between Peter and Sylar and Hiro, had more to do with budget than writing?

  7. […] Four Months Later I’ll be honest with you I was less than thrilled with Heroes’ Season 1 Finale.  It didn’t live up the incredible excitment built all year.  So the big question is will […]

Leave a Reply

