20 Freshman Shows that Deserved a Chance to Wrap Up their Stories

As I look at all the new series scheduled for the 2007-08 television schedule, I’m a little hesitant to get excited about any of them.  The networks seem less willing to give a new show a chance to find an audience before giving it the axe.  I’m still very bitter over the cancellation of Drive, can you tell?

Some shows are destined for failure even before they start despite a good premise or a captivating storyline because the networks put them in a lousy time slot, keep moving their time slot or run the episodes out of order.  Here are 20 series that never got a chance to wrap up their storylines before getting axed.  Some never even got the chance to finish their freshman season. 

  1. Firefly
  2. American Gothic
  3. Lone Gunman
  4. Harsh Realm
  5. Drive
  6. Reunion
  7. Nine
  8. Threshold
  9. Strange Luck
  10. John Doe
  11. Boomtown
  12. Freaks & Geeks
  13. Karen Cisco
  14. Touching Evil
  15. Jake 2.0
  16. Miss Match
  17. Keen Eddie
  18. Invasion
  19. Eyes
  20. Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip (I realize they are currently showing the last of the taped episodes, but I’m not convinced a real ending is in store.)

I’m not saying that all these series deserved a second season (most did), but at least their fans deserved a chance to see closure to these stories. 

The problem with single season shows is that if you didn’t see the show the first time, you have no idea what I’m talking about.  You won’t find these shows in reruns and, in most cases, you won’t find them on DVD.  For me, that’s the case with Jericho.  I understand that several are upset about its cancellation; however, I couldn’t include it on my list since I never saw it.

What shows would you have on your list?

One Response to 20 Freshman Shows that Deserved a Chance to Wrap Up their Stories

  1. rcrawford79 says:

    I have one that I wish would have lasted a few more seasons – Boomtown on NBC. Great writting and wonderful actors and acting. Once again the “Man” not knowing what a great show they had despite the ratings.

Leave a Reply

