What do you use your cell phone for?

I recently read this article about 10 things your cell phone will do in 10 years.  While the features sound really cool, I don’t know that I would really ever use these features.

In fact, I don’t think I currently use half the features on my phone now and I don’t have a high-end phone.  Of course, I use it to make phone calls.  The voicemail feature is handy for the calls I miss.  I use it to store phone numbers.  If, and only if, I don’t have my digital camera with me, I use the camera feature and then will use the picture mail feature to share these pictures.  But besides using the pictures to show friends my kids on my cell phone they are useless.  I tried printing them, but the quality is so poor it’s not worth the trouble 

However, the list of features I don’t use is a little bit longer.  Yes, I realize that my lack of ability to use these features is directly corillated with my age.

Messaging
Okay, I’ll admit to using the text messaging feature once in a great while.  But honestly, I can make the call faster (and leave a voice mail if necessary), than I can use this keypad to type a message. 

I have the ability to send email messages on my cell phone.  But seriously, trying to send an email of any real length using this keypad is a joke.

I don’t use instant messages on my computer, so why would I use it on my cell phone

I also have something called Voice SMS, but I don’t even know what that means.

World Time and Alarm Clock
I’m not such a world traveler that I need the World Time feature.  And I can’t figure out the alarm clock feature.  That’s what wake up calls in hotels are for.

Voice Memo
I’ve never even tried this feature.  I’m more of a sticky note kind of person or if I’m on my computer I leave myself reminders in email.

Other Tools
My phone has a scheduler, a task list and a memo pad.  I use all of these tools on my computer, so why do I need them on my phone?  If I need to be mobile with these features, I use my blackberry.  Sure I could get a phone that does everything my blackberry does, but then I start to lose quality of the features.  In fact, my blackberry has a phone, but it’s terrible to use.  The sound quality is poor.

Phones today also come with music players and video recorders.  If I want to listen to music, I’ll borrow my husband’s MP3 player.  If I want to record video, I’ll get out the camcorder.  And no, I don’t want to download TV shows and watch them on a 2-inch screen.

Now they are talking about cell phones that contain personal information, credit card numbers and bank accounts.  What do klutzs like me do when they lose a cell phone with that much information?  No thanks.

If you want to improve my phone, give me better sound quality and better range and skip the extras.

2 Responses to What do you use your cell phone for?

  1. Jocelyn says:

    About Voice SMS…

    A nice implementation of a Voice SMS solution in the US is http://www.pinger.com
    (BTW, I work at Pinger, so I am probably biased).

    Basically, the advantage of email and SMS, without having to type a message on these pesky 12 key pads! Very useful for group messaging when you cannot type (like while driving). Take a look.

    Jocelyn

  2. Adam says:

    I’m writing an article and am looking for some good quotes from people who think cell phones are too cluttered with features they don’t use. Could you please contact me as soon as you can?

    Best,

    Adam

Leave a Reply

