Family Photos — Don’t Wait Until Tomorrow

I come from a family where photos are a huge part of our life.  It’s not the same case for my in-laws.  However, now that there are grandchildren, I’ve been building up to request a three-generation family photo with my in-laws.  But now it’s too late.

When my husband and I started dating, he thought I was vain because I had photos all over my apartment of me with family, various friends.  But for me they are a visual history of my life.  They are my story.

Since my dad was military, I never stayed in one place long.  Photos allowed me a chance to capture memories of those places, friends and times.  They also allowed us to share moments of my childhood with family far away.

For me, family photos were an annual thing.  Now looking back, I can see how our family has changed and I appreciate all those times my mother made me dress up.

I have since won my husband over to my train of thought.  In fact, he’s usually the first to whip out the camera (although he’s still taking more likely to take scenery pictures without anyone we know in them — but hey, it’s progress).

My in-laws, however, still avoid the camera.  Sure, I’m lucky enough to get some candids, but they haven’t had a family photo since my husband was 16. 

So when the twins were born I decided that I would approach my in-laws about a family photo.  I wanted the twins to have at least one nice photo with their grandparents and their uncle.

I thought doing it around the holiday when we were all already together would be best since it would require the least amount of extra effort.  But, of course, the twins’ first Christmas was full of relatives wanting to see the twins for the first time.  So I planned to get the photo this past Christmas, but my brother-in-law wasn’t there.  I figured no biggie.  We’ll just do it next year.

Well then last month, my father-in-law went in the hospital.  Since my husband and I had an inkling that it was cancer, I told him that we needed to get the photo done once we got the diagnosis.  Well due to an in adequate hospital staff, we ended up bringing my father-in-law to Richmond to finally get a diagnosis. 

My husband brought my father-in-law by the house to see the twins when he was released from the hospital before taking him home.  My father-in-law was tired so I didn’t want to bother him with a picture that day.  But I told my husband we needed to plan a trip to Harrisonburg soon to get that family photo.  That was Saturday.  Monday, my father-in-law was back in the hospital and by Sunday he was gone.

I never did get that family photo.  And I’m kicking myself for procrastinating.  The twins will never have a nice formal photo with their grandfather.  And as I prepared a memorial photo book of my father-in-law for the funeral service, I realized just how few photos we had to document my father-in-law’s life.

So, if you’ve been thinking about a family photo, I urge you to go ahead and do it.  Don’t wait until tomorrow, because tomorrow might be too late.

My mother-in-law and brother-in-law came down for a visit this weekend.  I think they needed a break from all the well wishers.  Well the first thing I did with them was take them to a portrait studio.  I’m happy to report that I now have a family photo and we even did a pose of the twins with their grandmother alone.

One Response to Family Photos — Don’t Wait Until Tomorrow

  1. Diane says:

    Nothing is permanent in life, we are born and we die. I would like nothing better than to always have my two daughters live with me forever, but I had to learn to let them go onto their own lives. But secretly I can keep them for myself in pictures. I can relive all those memories of them growing up in pictures. My hallway is lined with pictures of my children and grandchildren. There are also pictures scattered throughout the house. They are my mark on the world, and they give me a reason to live each day. I look forward to sharing new adventures with them all, but the best part is I don’t loose their past. Pictures are a permanent memory of their past I can enjoy for the rest of my life. And I enjoy sharing them with relatives who live in other states. If I lost my house, the only thing I would want to save is my photos, everything else can be replaced. I agree, take the picture now, don’t wait ! ! These are permanent memories that can be passed down from generation to generation.

Leave a Reply

