10 Commandments for Dating My Daughter

My daughter is two, so I have years until she dates.  Or at least I’d better.   But if I don’t I have found some advice for her potential boyfriends.

But honestly, it’s not me that my daughter needs to worry about when she discover boys.  It’s her dad.  She was just a babe in his arms and he was already telling her that she couldn’t date until she was 35.  Never mind that I wasn’t 35 yet myself.

He’s already plotting with his buddies on how he’ll met her boyfriends (while cleaning his gun) and what obstacles a boy might need to go through to earn the right to date our little girl.

But when I came across Doug Giles’ The 10 Commandments for My Daughter’s Potential Boyfriends, I immediately thought of my husband.  I’m sure other overprotective fathers out there will appreciate this list.

Never fear my daughter has a ray of hope when she’s ready to begin her quest of dating, she has a twin brother who will be bringing plenty of friends home, I’m sure.

One Response to 10 Commandments for Dating My Daughter

  1. Thanks for your post. I don’t know if you’re familiar with Maya & Miguel, a show on PBS in the afternoons — http://pbskidsgo.org/mayaandmiguel — that emphasizes cultural diversity and language learning but I’m reaching out to talk to parents about the program as part of a marketing project I’m working on with Scholastic.

    I found your post and thought I’d reach out to say hello and ask if you’d like to receive a free Maya & Miguel DVD. If you’d like to receive the DVD just email me at mark@boldmouth.com with your address and I’ll have it shipped it out to you.

    If you do choose to blog about Maya & Miguel show or episodes on the DVD, please make it clear how you received the information. Our goal is to be open and honest with everyone we reach.

    If you’d like to add Maya & Miguel images from the show on your blog you can pick them up here – http://www.boldmouth.com/maya_and_miguel/

    Mark Steidler, BoldMouth

Leave a Reply

