Where are my ‘Drive’ episodes? A request to networks

Before I went on vacation, I diligently set my DVR to tape the long-awaited final two episodes of the short-lived series Drive on Fox on July 4th.  When I came home on Monday, I was more than a little disappointed.  Why do these networks keep screwing with us?

I’ve made it very clear in earlier posts that I don’t think Fox gave Drive a decent shot at finding an audience after only four episodes so I won’t dwell too much on that fact.  In fact, I think Fox has a history of canceling shows with potential before they’ve found a footing.  And what for?  Another dumb reality show.

However, I was mildly sated by the fact that I would get to watch the last two taped episodes, even if I had to wait until July.  But alas, Independence Day has come and gone and I’m no closer to seeing the missing two episode of Drive.

And to add insult to injury, the network has already canceled the second date (July 13th) that it planned to air these episodes.  At this point I’ve given up hope that I’ll ever see those episodes (unless they finally put them up on the Internet).  By the way, for those of you who want to know more about what happens in those last episodes of Drive, check out this DriveFans interview.

As for me, I’ve lost all faith in Fox and, with the exception of House and Bones, will be very leery of adding any more Fox shows to my watch list.

But Fox isn’t the only network messing with its viewers.  After canceling the serial drama Nine in November after just seven episodes, ABC has decided to show the six unaired episodes on Wednesdays at 10 p.m. starting August 1.

Okay, I’ll admit this one wasn’t a great series and I had no silly notions of it making it past a single season.  Still in for a penny, in for a pound.  I still got hooked on the series and wanted closure, so when ABC abruptly canceled it last fall I was peeved.

Now nine months later, they want to bring it back!  I can’t even remember all the characters names, let alone the story line.  If that’s not bad enough, this August stint of episodes still won’t provide resolution for fans because when the 13th episode was filmed, producers didn’t know that the series would be canceled so they had no chance to wrap up storylines. 

At this rate, ABC is giving me no reason to tune in in August.  Why would I?  Just to be bummed out again when I still have no idea what went on in the bank.  ABC, you can count me out.

Now comes my time to plead with the networks.  I have five little requests.

  1. Please give a good, quality show with potential a chance to find an audience before deciding to axe it.  Yes, that means more than five or six episodes.  If we like a show, we will spread the word.  Just give us a chance. 
  2. Show the episodes in order.  You can’t build an audience if the storyline jumps around because the episodes are shown out of order.  We need to be able to follow a show to enjoy it.
  3. Please if you are going to cancel a show, especially a serial one, give the producers a chance wrap up the storylines.
  4. If you are going to cancel a show, especially one with a fan base — even a small one, please show all the filmed episodes.  You’ve already spent the money to produce the episode, go ahead and air it.
  5. Show the final episodes immediately, please.  Do not insult us by making us wait months to see a few missing episodes.  If you don’t want to use your precious air time, put the episodes up on the Internet.

I don’t think that my requests are that much to ask.  But I can tell you this; there are a lot more options out there than there used to be.  If networks don’t start respecting their audiences, I, for one, will be taking a lot more advantage of these choices.

Leave a Reply

