‘Army Wives’ Enlisted for a Second Season

The 3.6 million fans of Army Wives, which debuted last month, have made the drama the #1 show in Lifetime’s history.  For this, the fans are being rewarded with a second season.

Army WivesLifetime just announced that it has ordered another 13 episodes of the hit drama for its second season to begin airing Spring 2008.  I don’t know about other fans, but that’s a long time to wait for more Army Wives, but it’s good if it means we have more quality TV to watch over the summer when the pickings are slim.

Army Wives is a show about how spouses (there’s one husband) of members of the Army deal with being married to a soldier.  From the producer’s of Grey’s Anatomy, the drama stars TV veterans Kim Delaney, Catherine Bell and Brigid Brannagh and features newcomer Sally Pressman. 

While most real army wives will probably say that the series isn’t an accurate portrayal of life on post, Army Wives does have a sense of realism and is based on Tanya Biank’s book “Under the Sabers:  The Unwritten Code of Army Wives.”

If you haven’t had a chance to catch an episode of Army Wives, I highly recommend you do.  I would’ve expected to find a drama of this quality on one of the networks so don’t let the fact that it’s on Lifetime prevent you from watching it.  You can catch reruns during the week on Lifetime or online at Lifetime.com and new episodes on Sunday nights at 10 p.m. EST.

29 Responses to ‘Army Wives’ Enlisted for a Second Season

  1. kahandra says:

    i jus love the show dont even want to mis and espoide would kill 4 it it would be and honour to meet the people off of army wi ves and all ok.

  2. kristal says:

    i can’t wait for second season or third heck it’s the only good thing on tv anymore i look forward to watching every sunday.i hope they continue this show as long as they possibly can. for life i hope! so many people like it! and i’ve been telling them about it.even if noone watched it i would still be the one waiting for it.it’s my mom (me) time to myself.and even hubby knows better then to mess with my army wives moment.lol.

  3. jessica reeves says:

    i love army wives.

  4. maggie says:

    I so love the army wives show, it is so awsome I really am enjoying it! I cry everytime I watch it, it is like the real thing,the last one of the season is so sad me and my sister cried because her boyfriend is going/thinking of going in the army. so my boyfriends father is in the air force i pray for him and the rest of the men who is in the military and thier family b/c it is hard to keep your head up and to be strong.and i am glade they do.

    i am /and always will be praying,
    maggie

  5. maggie says:

    Come on now we shouldn’t have to wait all these months for the new season to begin. I love this show and waiting that long might make me lose interest. I am an army wife, and that’s one reason I started watching this show. I know how they feel. Please let the second season air before next spring.

  6. CINDY SAYS says:

    I think the show “Army Wives” is a great show. I like all the characters in ths show. I am glad to see it returning for a second season. Can’t wait till Spring gets here.

  7. Melissa says:

    I love Army Wives, I hate that we have to wait so long for the second series but I am so glad to see that there will be more. Every week I can’t wait till Sunday to see a new episode. I’m ready to see what happens with the soldier with the bombs at the bar. It makes you really look at the big picture of being an army wife and/or husband. I get really into watching the show, I even find myself putting myself in the situation. This is definitly the best show that has ever aired….

  8. Meaghan says:

    I love the show Army Wives! I can’t wait to see what happens the second season…….

  9. Stephanie says:

    I just love this show. Hopefully they will aire it earlier. Cant wait.

  10. Janet says:

    Does anyone know when Army Wives reruns will begin. I want to tape them for my mother.

  11. Erin says:

    I am really going to miss Army wives… I love the show and the actors. Please bring the show back… Love it a lot. I would also like to say that I was really enjoying starter wife when it went off the air.

    Erin

  12. miggie says:

    I am so upset that army wifes is over and that i have to wait til spring to see the second season. Its just to long to wait we have to get it sooner. I just loved watching army wifes on sundays. I had never really looked forward to sundays, but since army wifes i just cant wait.

  13. Maxine says:

    I love Army Wives. I have even gotton my husband to watch. I can’t wait till next season.

  14. MARIA RAMOS says:

    I enjoy very much these series, its very touching. Its the best and now I have to wait for 2008 to continue watching my favorite show. thats not horifing. please dont make us wait so much. thanks from Puerto Rico….

  15. Jenn says:

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE Army Wives…..It blows all the other shows away by far! I cannot WAIT till the 2nd season comes out, and I hope it continues into a 3rd, 4th and 5th and so on of seasons!!! I love that show SO much, lol, I think I cried the whole show on the finale!! lol

  16. Jayda says:

    OMG, I love Army Wives, not that I am an Army wife, but a G/f of a soldier. I can’t believe we have to wait until next Spring:( I think though they could have ended it better this eason.

  17. Meagan says:

    I loved the show from the start and I am an army wife, and the uncanny thing about it is… in my opinion the show is decently accurate. I can’t wait til the show comes back… especially now since my husband is deployed and I dont have to shush him when the shows on. Lol… J.K.

  18. Megan says:

    Oh my god! I can not wait for Army wives to come back on! I am so Excited! It is a very long time to wait, but it is totally worth it!

  19. Marie says:

    I wish it was next spring already. I can hardly wait. It is so real life.

  20. Sarah says:

    My husband is in the Navy. My first experience with the whole military life was when my husband was stationed in Italy and I flew out to stay with him. When I came back to the states I caught the first episode of Army Wives, I was shocked, amazed, and so happy that there was a show that told how we feel, think and act. I cant wait for the next season. Spring is a long time to wait!

  21. Kassie says:

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE Army Wives!!! I don’t know about any of you but I am a PrOuD RePuBlIcAn, & this show just shows that all those men and women over there are there for a reason and I am honored to know any of them personally. This show is the best show I have ever watched & I can NOT wait for the new season. I hope this show goes for a very long time. If “Friends” can do it, so can this show!!!
    GOD BLESS!!!

  22. This show is a definite “must DVR it.” The shows are SO well written and I feel like they give a pretty good taste of military life for those “outside” the uniformed services.

  23. Couldnt adore this show any more. When this show came on, my brand new husband had just left for Iraq for 13 months. This show got me threw more than anything else could, crying and laughing with the characters as if i was right there with them. Corny? Not at all – this show is THE show of all time. Bring back season 2! Bring back season 2!! I can not wait till more shows are on – and now, a week ago – Jeff came back, he can watch them with me! :] ~Rock On Army Wives!!! ❤

  24. Dawn-Army Wife!!! says:

    I absolutely love Army Wives….being an Army Wife myself. My husband who served 10 months in Iraq and had to be medically retired watches this show with me. I have my family addicted to it as well. Can’t wait for season two to start…GO ARMY!!!!

  25. chrisitne says:

    i love army wives and can’t wat til the second season comes on. i watch all the reruns and tape them its the best show on in along time.

  26. nadine says:

    i soooo love this proggramme please someone tell me if they know what happens in the next series, if that guys blows them all up in the bar????? any clues, fantastic actors brilliantly written well done writter,

  27. Nancy Bost says:

    I sooo love amy wives. My husband was in the army for 2 years paratrooper and I know how it is to love with your husband that served his country. He suffered from PTSD for many years and no one knew what the problem was. Our men deserve to be treated with PRIDE and DIGNITY. Can’t wait for season 2. Nancy Bost.

  28. Madison - Army Wife says:

    At first I didn’t give this show a chance, thinking it wouldn’t be worth it, but my nail lady told me I should watch it and I did. Let me just say I was so WRONG, it is a wonderful show! My husband has been in the Army for four years now and is on his second tour overseas, in Iraq this time – this tour has been harder than the last one for me in some ways and we are not even close to being done. I started watching season 1 last Friday and finished it on Monday, I really love Army Wives; I laughed, cried and I could really relate to the characters. I really hope this show keeps going.

  29. Jannn says:

    I love this show, I don’t have or never had anyone in the Military that was my spouse,
    Though I wish I did. The relationships are real and down to earth, full of passion, Denise’s husband reminds me of my ex, things had to be his way, no other, didn’t understand that marriage is a growing thing, for me also, only for him.
    I wish I could meet someone older in the military, that would be nice.

    Keep the show on forever, we need a reminder of the families that soldiers leave behind when they go off to war or assignments.

Leave a Reply

