Jimmy Stewart Honored on U.S. Postage Stamp

On Friday, one of my favorite actors will be honored when his image is released on a U.S. postage stamp on Friday, August 17.  The Jimmy Stewart stamp is the 13th in the Legends of Hollywood series.

Jimmy Stewart StampI’ve been a big fan of Stewart since my first viewing of It’s a Wonderful Life.  Then I saw Mr. Smith goes to Washington and Stewart was forever immortalized as one of my favorite actors.  What is your favorite Jimmy Stewart movie?

But Stewart, who starred in more than 80 movies, is not only an inspiration on the screen; he’s an inspiration to the American citizen.  In the middle of a successful movie career Stewart enlisted in the Army Air Corps and served as a pilot during World War II where he won several honors for dangerous combat missions including the Distinguished Flying Cross and The Air Medal.

The stamp will be released in a ceremony on Friday at Universal Studios in Hollywood.  The James Stewart Museum in his hometown — Indiana, PA — will also be celebrating the stamps release.

Since I will not be able to attend either, I think I will break out my favorite Jimmy Stewart DVDs and have my own little marathon this weekend to celebrate.

Next year will honor the 100th anniversary of the birth of the actor who passed away in 1997.

4 Responses to Jimmy Stewart Honored on U.S. Postage Stamp

  1. Lisa says:

    Hi! So glad to know you’ve heard about this new stamp. I work for a non-profit in Indianapolis called Heartland Truly Moving Pictures; we recognize films that inspire, uplift and generally celebrate the best of the human spirit. The Heartland Film Festival, our flagship event, honors student filmmakers with the Jimmy Stewart Memorial Crystal Heart Award every year, so we’re proud to support this new stamp honoring such a great actor.

    You can check out all of Stewart’s films that are on our List here: http://www.trulymovingpictures.org/the-list.aspx. Might be one you haven’t thought of–you can add it to this weekend’s marathon! 🙂

    Thanks, and happy movie-watching,
    Lisa

  2. vacelts says:

    Lisa, great list of movies. Thank you.

  3. Diane says:

    I think the two movies you listed are great classics with Jimmy Stewart and It’s a wonderful Life is also one of my favorites. My second favorite and it’s a real tearjerker is Shenandoah, he’s a father with sons during the civil war. I think he’s a great actor in westerns such as the Man who shot Liberty Valance and The Cheyenne Social Club, both good movies. One more interesting movie is Harvey with an imaginary rabbit. I know I show my age when I say he’s one of my favorite actors, but I’m glad to see him honored in this way. I’ll be looking for these postage stamps. Thanks for the info.

  4. ali says:

    Some great movies lisa,such classics of james stewart i always thought he was a superb actor so im glad he is being honored i will also be on the look out for these postage stamps,my favourite film of his is The man who knew too much which he starred with the great icon Doris day,anyway you have a great page very informative & easy to get through,keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

