What’s Your Favorite Movie to Watch at Halloween?

It’s that time again — for all things creepy and spooky to come out and play.  But the real question is what will you snuggle up with on your couch in the darkest corner of your living room for a spine-tingling night of the best of the best in hair-raising Halloween films?

The array of frightening and suspenseful movies is unending this time of year.  What is on your plate for an eerie and scary night of Halloween movie delight?

Below is my Top 10 list of Movies to watch for Halloween fun.  I will warn you that I not a big horror movie fan, so you won’t find much in the way of slasher films on my list.  Feel free to add your favorites in the comment section below.

Ray Bradbury’s Something Wicked This Way Comes1.  Something Wicked this Way Comes
Ray Bradbury’s tale of two boys who discover the secrets of an evil carnival where everyone in their town goes to make their dreams come true tops my viewing list.  This movie gave me goose bumps as a kid and for that reason alone I watch it every year at Halloween.

2.  Sleepy Hollow
Although the story of the headless horseman has been told many times, Tim Burton’s version is still my favorite.

3.  Scream
As I said I’m too big of a chicken to watch many slasher films, but the way this movie pokes fun at them keeps me laughing too much to be too afraid.

4.  Practical Magic
Not really a scary movie (unless you get on the wrong side of these witches), Practical Magic is a fun look at the love lives of (as my husband would say) two hot witches.

5.  Brothers Grimm
The dark and scary said of all our favorite fairytales.  How can you miss this one on Halloween?

6.  Van Helsing
This movie has all your favorite monsters — vampires, werewolves, even Frankenstein. 

7.  Underworld
A look at the epic battle between Vampires and Werewolves.  Who knew the undead’s life was so complicated?

8.  The Lost Boys
Okay, I have a thing for vampires.  But you have to admit this movie has one good-looking group of vamps.  And beside, who wants to miss the ’80s hijinx of the two Coreys.

9.  Ghostbusters
What’s Halloween without a few ghosts and spirits?  And don’t forget the StayPuft Marshmallow Man.  Hmmm . . . suddenly I’m in the mood for s’mores. 

10.  It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown
I don’t care how old you are.  It’s not Halloween until you’ve seen Linus waiting in the pumpkin patch for the Great Pumpkin.

So now you know my DVD line up for the weekend, what’s yours?

5 Responses to What’s Your Favorite Movie to Watch at Halloween?

  1. Diane says:

    Hocus Pocus, I have watched it three times already. I don’t like the really goory spooky movies, I like the more light hearted ones.
    Have a great halloween.
    Diane

  2. rcrawford79 says:

    Wow, what a great subject…so many good movies to choose from. I guess my top 5 would be – 28 days, Poltergeist, The Shinning, Night of the Living Dead, & my all time favorite so don’t laugh – Beetlejucie.

  3. fubarianphoenix says:

    These are good ones. I used to love the lost boys wen I was little. I remember thinking the lady in it (the girlfriend who ran with the vampires) It would be nice to see that again. I still think of that rice scene when I eat it sometimes… you know the scene lol. I made a top 50 list but I probably will not be watching anything on it because i forgot to rent anything for the weekend and i have watched the scary movies I already have too much to enjoy em right now. I would have liked to see Wrong Turn or Texas Chainsaw Massacre. I have a new copy of wrong turn part 2 so I might watch that if I get the nerve up =o)

    fubarianphoenix.wordpress.com

  4. […] What’s Your Favorite Movie to Watch at Halloween? […]

  5. vacelts says:

    Fubarian, I can’t eat rice after than scene. I just can’t.
    I’m off to check out your top 50.

Leave a Reply

