10 Steps for Surviving the Writer’s Strike

I watch too much TV.  I’m the first to admit  it (the first step for conquering any addiction is admitting you have a problem).  That said, I don’t actually see myself giving up one of my favorite past times.  At least until this strike hit.  But as my favorite TV shows go dark one by one, I find myself in quite a quandary.  So I’ve come up with my own 10-step (I know it really should’ve been 12) plan to avoid the withdrawal symptoms and help me survive the strike.

1.  Clear the Backlog on my DVR
Over the last few weeks as my DVR has closed in on capacity, I’ve wondered about giving up on some of the more mediocre shows.  Did shows like Cane, Journeyman, Moonlight and Private Practice actually deserve a coveted place on my nearly full DVR?  Normally, I’d have cut the ties on at least a couple of these shows weeks ago.  But the strike has me running scared, so I saved them.  While these shows haven’t wowed me they are still better than endless hours of reality TV.  So I will fill my cold, dark winter nights clearing out the drudge on my DVR.  What can I say?  I can’t go cold turkey.  

2.  Catch up on Summer Blockbusters
This summer we were actually treated to some great new television shows.  Add the great summer fare to a busy summer with the kids and there was little time left to hit the theaters.  Now all those movies I wanted to see over the summer are being released on DVD.  We’ll be adding a few of these to our DVD collection and will spend several evenings catching up on what we missed this summer.  Yes, I know I’m subbing one addiction for another.  But hey, it’s baby steps!

3.  Hit the Theatres for the Holiday Movie Season
The holiday movie season has already started and I actually think there might be a few good selections out there.  Our outing to see the Bee Movie with the twins was successful so I’m encouraged.  See I’m progressing.  At least now I’m off the couch.

4.  Get a Jump Start on Christmas
Since I’m already at the mall for the movies, I might as well get a jump on my Christmas shopping.  Hmmm, I might be able to finish my shopping before December this year.  With such an early start, I might even make a few gifts this year.  And while I’m at it, I might as well get my decorations up early (that way we can look at the pretty lights on tree when there are no pretty lights coming from the TV).  There are Christmas cards to write and goodies to bake.  This step could keep me busy for a while.

5.  Blog More
Without all that TV watching taking up my time, I might actually get a chance to do some more blogging.  I always fall back to writing about my favorite shows.  Now I’ll be forced to conquer new topics.  Watch out world, you’ll be hearing my opinion on everything.  See that in itself, might be enough to stop the strike.

6.  Learn a New Hobby
Now is as good of time as any to pick up a new hobby.  Hmm . . . I’ve always wanted to learn calligraphy.  If I start now, I can use it for #4.  Won’t all my friends and family be impressed when they get hand-addressed Christmas cards done in calligraphy?  Okay, maybe I’m pushing myself a little too much here.  I must keep expectations realistic.

7.  Read a Good Book
I haven’t picked up a book since this summer.  It’s a real shame, because I really enjoy reading.  Here’s my chance to catch up with my reading list.  And what’s better on a cold winter night than curling up with a good book and a hot drink.  If I feel adventurous and want to multi-task and combine books with another step like #5 or #6, I might give audio books a try.

8.  Enjoy a Good Meal
No more microwaved meals in front of the television.  Instead, I can sit down at one of my favorite restaurants and enjoy a good meal.  Better yet, I can try a new restaurant.  Or since I just bought Jessica’s Seinfeld’s new book, I can take another go at learning to cook.  But due to my level of domestic challengeness, it might need to be a really long strike if I’m going to make any headway in that department.  It might be safer for all if I just hit the restaurants.

9  Enjoy a Good Night’s Sleep
No more staying up to watch late night talk shows.  No more trying to keep my eyes open for that 10 o’clock show.  I’m off to bed for a good nights sleep.  With a little rest, who knows what I’m capable of!

10.  Throw a Party
Sure I could have put something healthy here like start a new exercise program, but hey a party would be more fun.  What a better way to touch base with my friends then to invite them over for a night of stimulating conversation and fun antics (read beer and chips over a game of Taboo).

Just writing this post as helped quell the panic that’s been building ever since the writers picked up their first picket sign.  You know, I think I’m going to be okay.  I will be able to survive this strike. 

Now tell me about you.  What will you be doing to get through this strike?

5 Responses to 10 Steps for Surviving the Writer’s Strike

  1. Aryan says:

    WOW!! nice post and interesting website where r u buddy, i never see this website before actually we use http://www.laadi.com to search new and latest stories. anyway i will tell my all friend about this web.

  2. Roberta says:

    Great list 🙂 Now if you are thinking about audio books, I would recommend anything done by Stephen Fry (he does Harry Potter audio books), simply marvelous, most soothing amazing voice… 🙂
    I was also thinking what am I going to do, so I thought maybe I should find that old episodes of I dont know Golden Girls, that should tie me over… for a while… at least 🙂 Oh who am I kidding, I think I can take the strike and whatnot, but how I am going to manage without House every week I dont know 🙂

  3. vacelts says:

    Roberta, I like House too. But I’m really going to miss Supernatural. It’s my favorite.

  4. Danny says:

    I’m liking #5…I should really get going on that one. =P

  5. […] of 2007 Family-Friendly Holiday Season Movies With the Writer’s Guild of America on strike and all our favorite television shows going dark, the place to be this holiday season for a little […]

Leave a Reply

