Is there Such a Thing as Too Much Chocolate?

After seeing me on one of my little chocolate binges (we won’t talk about how often these happen), my husband has asked me if there’s such a thing as too much chocolate.  I emphatically declared no one.  That’s before I read about Chocolate Show going on in New York this week.

A fashion from the 2004 showAisles and aisles of chocolate delight.  Mmmmmm.  But it more that chocolate you can eat or drink.  There’s chocolate you can wear!  And I’m not talking about the way my two years olds wear their chocolate pudding!  I’m talking about a chocolate jewelry and fashion show. 

Can you imagine combining my two of my favorite things — chocolate and jewelry? A better version of those candy necklaces we had as kids.  The thought is too confusing to me.  Do you eat it or wear it? 

I was thrilled earlier this year when scientists declared that chocolate was good for us.  It’s about time they finally declared something good for us.  But I still think I’d rather eat than wear it (unless you are talking about licking the spoon after making brownies).  However, the idea of rows and rows of chocolate intrigues me.  Anyone know how I can get the show to come to my town?

The CBS article on the show included a few chocolate drinks that you might want to add to your menu this holiday season.  I thought they sounded delicious, so I’ve included them below:

Crispy Mint Hot Chocolate
2 cups whole milk
1/4 cup of water
2 tbs cup sugar
4 oz bittersweet chocolate

Heat milk with water and sugar. Add heated mixture to chocolate and mix until smooth. Add the splash of fresh milk and pour into cups. Top with whipped cream and crushed candy canes. Enjoy!  

Ponche Crema
5 yolks
2 1/2 cups milk
1 cups heavy cream
1 cup dark chocolate
2 vanilla beans
1 can condensed milk
1/4 tsp freshly ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp freshly ground nutmeg
pinch of Sarawak pepper
1/2 cup Ron Anejo “Anniversario” Pampero

Combine all milks and cream with the vanilla beans (split and scraped) and bring to a boil. Combine the eggs and spices, then temper by adding the hot cream a little at a time. Return to the stove and cook on low heat until thick and creamy. Remove from the heat, add the chocolate and stir until melted. Strain and chill rapidly. Add Ron, and serve. Keep very chilled.   Venezuela is one of the largest producers and manufacturers of high quality Rum. This is a national drink similar to egg-nog but with a bigger kick and a little chocolate. Salud!

Smoking Cool Chocolate
2 cups whole milk plus a splash
1 cup of water
2 tbs cup sugar
4 oz bittersweet chocolate

Heat milk with water and sugar. Add heated mixture to chocolate and mix until smooth. Add the splash of fresh milk and chill. Serve in a mug and drop a piece of dry ice in a small tea ball and sink it in. Serve with a straw.   For an adult version, try the Smoking Cool Chocolate Martini. Serve in a martini glass with a dash of bitters and 2 oz of chilled vodka. 

These all sound delicious to me.  I think I’ll try the hot chocolate one first, but instead of candy canes I’ll think I’ll add a shot of peppermint schnapps.  Happy chocolating!

One Response to Is there Such a Thing as Too Much Chocolate?

  1. thanks for the GREAT post! Very useful…

Leave a Reply

