When Mommy Has a Sick Day

I’ve been under the weather for a couple days now.  Yesterday I spent most of the day in bed.  My husband, as always, sweetly took care of me, bringing me everything I needed — soup, water, even my computer to finish a couple deadline projects for work.  But unlike in the past, my husband had help caring for me this time.

My son would take time out his busy play schedule every couple of hours to pop into the bedroom just to tell me hi.  Ever the entertainer, he even serenaded me with his keyboard.  Not the best medicine for a severe headache, but the thought was sweet nonetheless.

My daughter was a little more concerned for my health.  First she brought me some toys, I guess in case I needed some entertainment while I was laid up.  Then she crawled up in the bed beside me.  She sat there and talked away to me for a little while.  Then she brushed the hair away from my forehead and looked at me asking, “Mommy alright?”  When I told her yes, Mommy was alright; she gave me a kiss and went on her way.

Well today I’m back up and on my feet.  Some might say its because of the meds I took and a full day of rest.  But I credit my quick turn around to my family for their tender loving care.  I couldn’t be luckier!

And yesterday was one of the best sick days I’ve every had.

One Response to When Mommy Has a Sick Day

  1. Diane says:

    You know it’s very interesting and very loving to hear that your sick day was the most wonderful sick day you ever had. It’s amazing to experience the unconditional and innocent love of a child, that is the best medicine. Evenif it doesn’t cure what ailes you, a child’s love and attention can breath a release from one’s soul. I think my life would be so boring, if I had never experience the joy of raising children. And my reward, and I wasn’t looking for a reward, are my grandchildren. Enjoy those little ones while they are young and dependant on you, it doesn’t last. But they will be your best friends some day after they’ve grown.

Leave a Reply

