What Song Inspires You?

Last night on American Idol, the Elite 8 say the song that most inspires them.  I was a bit surprised at the range of songs they chose.

Several of the contestants stepped up to the plate with inspiration performances.

And it got me wondering what song would I pick as my inspirational choice (I promise that I won’t sing, just write).

I’ve decided on Lee Ann Womack’s “I Hope You Dance.”

I hope you never fear those mountains in the distance
Never settle for the path of least resistance
Living might mean taking chances
But they’re worth taking
Lovin’ might be a mistake
But it’s worth making

It took me a long time to realize that the safe route wasn’t always the best route.  I was afraid of failure.  I didn’t realize that I would become a better person because of the chances I take, that the rewards outweigh the risks.

And that’s a life lesson I hope to pass on to my kids and I think this song does a great job of relaying that message.

What song would you pick to inspire you?

4 Responses to What Song Inspires You?

Leave a Reply

