Sea Gull Century Gets Unexpected Participant

On Saturday, my husband competed in the Sea Gull Century, a hundred mile bike race on the Eastern Shore of Maryland.  But what we saw was an unexpected surprise.

This wild pony just joined right into the race.

This wild pony just joined right into the race.

Being the dutiful family, my three-year-old twins and I donned our team shirts and went to support him.  We saw him off at the start line in Salisbury.  Then we took a small detour to the Salisbury Zoo, before heading to Assateague Island to cheer him on at the 62 mile marker.

We arrived about 45 minutes before my husband, so we found some a good spot on the side of the road and cheered on all the other weary cyclists as they headed into their third rest stop.

But what we saw next was a delight to my children and just a surprise to the other riders.  We saw a new entry into the event – the kind with four legs.

How many races do you get to ride right beside a wild pony?

How many races do you get to ride right beside a wild pony?

Assateague – and the neighboring Chincoteague – Island is known for its wild ponies.  Well, while we were sitting there cheering on the cyclists we saw one pony insert himself into the race.

He started out grazing on the side of the road, but then worked himself onto the road where surprised cyclists traveling 15-20 mph had to navigate around him.

But just as quickly as he appeared our mysterious pony participant disappeared.  But when you hear my kids talk about the century, it’s all about the pony – and oh yeah, Daddy did good too.

6 Responses to Sea Gull Century Gets Unexpected Participant

  1. Barb says:

    That’s so cool! Thanks for leaving the link on my blog. 🙂

  2. robin says:

    Thanks for leaving the link on my blog. I wish I had seen the pony while I was out. That would have been a treat! You’ve got to send that picture to TNT for its brochures. It’s a great shot!

  3. vacelts says:

    Barb and Robin, thanks so much for stopping by. My kids and I really enjoyed being spectators. The ponies were an extra treat!

    I hope you both had good rides. My husband was thrilled with the weather. He was totally worn out at the end, but he beat his last time by almost an hour.

    Robin, if you have a contact at TNT please send them to this site, I’d be happy to let them use the photo.

  4. Sherpa says:

    Nah, I didn’t get to see the pony. Great pics though!

  5. How cool that you saw the ponies. I am in such envy. We saw pony “evidence” along the side of the road, but no ponies.

  6. vacelts says:

    Snippety, I’m so glad I got to see the pony instead of the evidence. Did you have a good ride?

    Sherpa, how was your ride?

Leave a Reply

