Supernatural’s ‘Metamorphosis’ Finds the Winchester Boys Divided

Last night during Supernatural’s “Metamorphosis,” I saw a real rift developing between the Winchester brothers and it scared me, more than the rugaru.

Sergei Bachlakov/The CW �2008 The CW Network, LLC. All Rights Reserved.

"Metamorphosis" - LtoR: Jared Padalecki as Sam and Jensen Ackles as Dean in SUPERNATURAL on The CW. Photo: Sergei Bachlakov/The CW �2008 The CW Network, LLC. All Rights Reserved.

One of the great things about Supernatural is the impenetrable bond between Dean and Sam.  But last night that bond broke.  It was kind of like that moment when you realize your hero is only human.  It was a blow to my belief in the Winchesters to conquer all.

It makes sense for the story itself, but I never thought I’d see the day when something came between the boys.  Sure they’ve fought before and disagreed on many occasions, but this season they lost trust in each other.

And I don’t know about Dean, but I didn’t believe Sam when he said that he wasn’t going to mess with his ESP abilities.  And even if Sam was speaking the truth, I don’t think Ruby is going to let her little prodigy that easy.

I think Sam wants to think he’s doing good with his psychic exorcisms.  And the fact that the human victims are still alive is a big plus.  But I think he knows deep down that he’s crossing a line or else he’d share his work with Dean.

I know that living up to big brother’s expectations can be rough and that Sam has always felt like he’s different, but Sam has always confided in Dean.  So the fact that he didn’t this time, says something.

Did Sam see a little of himself in the Rugaru who was fighting a hunger that would cause him to lose control and cross a point of no return?

I still have a lot of questions about what Sam and Ruby are doing.

Why are they still looking for Lilith?  Is it for vengeance or is about the whole 66 seals until Lucifer walks the earth thing?  What are they going to do when they find her?  Why are they keeping the search from Dean?

I thought when Castiel showed up on the scene, Ruby split.  Why did she stay around?  Surely she knows that the angel is going to fill in Dean on her extracurricular activities.  Or does she think her power over Sam is already strong enough to prevent losing him?

I’m assuming that Sam summoned Ruby back from Hell.  But it seems a little too convenient that she’s the one to tutor Sam in his powers.  Is Ruby working for Lilith?  Or Azazel?  Or someone else entirely?

What is her (or whoever she works for) plan for Sam?  And has Sam gone too far to turn back?

I can’t wait to see what happens next.  But at the same time I’m dreading it.  The thought of Dean having to fight his own brother is going to tear me apart.  Sam better get his act together, dump Ruby and get back in the game – soon.

And did I mention how much I hate Ruby right now!

It’s a good thing next week looks like it’ll be a little lighter.  Here’s a preview:

What did you think of the episode?  Is there hope for Sam?  Can Dean stop him or will Castiel have to intervene?  And how gross was the rugaru?

5 Responses to Supernatural’s ‘Metamorphosis’ Finds the Winchester Boys Divided

  1. Jess says:

    I really hope that there is hope for Sam. I hope that the brothers won’t be divided on this forever and will be able to make it past this and come together.

    I didn’t believe Sam when he said he was going to quit using his abilities. He might try harder to hide them from Dean. If Dean finds out that Sam lied, I can only imagine what the showdown would be like. And I do hope that Dean would be able to stop him before Castiel and his kind does (and yeah, I’m still a little confused as to what exactly Castiel is, what side he’s on and what his exact purpose is).

    I really can’t make myself like Ruby at all. I don’t know if it’s the actress or the way the character is written, but I just don’t like her at all. I think she has some ulterior motives.

    The preview for next week looks awesome, though.

  2. The Devil says:

    OMG! You’re a mom of twins too? That’s so cool. 🙂

    I wanted to thank you for the comment you left on my blog. I have to say though, I haven’t been this excited about a comment before. So, I did what was due and turned it into a post. 🙂

    Glad to see I have an ally with this show. 🙂

  3. vacelts says:

    Jess,

    It’s going to be interesting to see how Kripke goes forward here, but anyway you slice it, the boys are in for a rough road.

    I liked the Ruby from last season so I think it’s the actress. But maybe it’s the fact that Ruby is leading Sam down the wrong path and possibly sleeping with him (she was in a state of undress in the premiere)

    The preview for next week looks awesome, though.

    I always love the Halloween episodes!

  4. vacelts says:

    The Devil, Thanks for the link.

    As for Ruby, I think maybe she’s one of Azezel’s minions and she’s carrying out his end game (whatever that is).

  5. […] Supernatural’s ‘Metamorphosis’ Finds the Winchester Boys Divided […]

Leave a Reply

