Supernatural Returns and Dean is Back!

For an entire season of Supernatural last year I sat on the edge of my seating wondering how Sam and Dean were going to get Dean out of the deal he made at the end of the second season with the crossroads demon trading his life after a year for Sam’s.  Imagine my surprise last May, when no loop hole was found and Dean was sent to Hell!

Supernatural - Season 4 - "Lazarus Rising" - Jensen Ackles as Dean, Traci Dinwiddle as Pamela Barnes, Jim Beaver as Bobby and Jared Padalecki as Sam.  courtesy Sergei Bachlakov/The CW

Supernatural - Season 4 - "Lazarus Rising" - Jensen Ackles as Dean, Traci Dinwiddle as Pamela Barnes, Jim Beaver as Bobby and Jared Padalecki as Sam. Courtesy Sergei Bachlakov/The CW

I have to give Eric Kripke big kudos for not taking the easy road and saving Dean.  The final scene of finale was epic.  But that doesn’t mean I wasn’t thrilled when I read that Dean returns from Hell in this week’s Season 4 premiere.

I’ve waited an entire summer to find out what has happened to the Winchester brothers.  How does Dean escape Hell?  Even their father couldn’t do that (until they opened the devil’s gate).  How has Sam managed without Dean?  Have we truly seen the last of Lilith?  If so, who’s the new big bad this season?

Other than the big news that Dean returns, everyone in Camp Supernatural is being pretty tight-lipped on what’s to come in Season 4.  In an interview, writer/producer Sera Gamble’s standard answer was watch and see.

This week’s episode is aptly titled “Lazarus Risings” and the boys along with fellow hunter Bobby will be heading to see a psychic in order to find answers.

You will find me glued to my television on Thursdays from now on.  Is anyone else excited as me that the boys are back?

I was so awed by the Season 3 finale that I’ve left it on my DVR all summer (call it my security blanket for a summer without the Winchesters) until my husband deleted the episode this week.  I was about to take his head off when he gave me the Season 3 DVD.  Instead he got kisses. 

Now I’m off to re-watch the season finale so I’m ready for tomorrow night.

Until then, here’s a promo of what’s to come:

3 Responses to Supernatural Returns and Dean is Back!

  1. lovellagrey says:

    Yes, I am so excited for the premiere of Supernatural tonight! I just started watching this summer–the entire 3 seasons–and got hooked. I love this show!

    I thought that I was the only one sort of hoping for Dean to stay in Hell, just for a while. So now I assume this season will be the mystery of how he escapes? I wonder if we will have to question whether or not Dean is a demon or evil?

  2. vacelts says:

    *** spoiler alert ***

    lovellagrey, from what I understand Bobby wonders about what Dean is when he shows up. And the season (at least the first part) is all about how and why Dean escaped from Hell.

Leave a comment