What’s Your Favorite Pie for Thanksgiving

It’s seven days and counting to Turkey Day.  I can happily count down these days since I won’t be the one slaving over a hot stove preparing a feast for all.  In fact, due to my lack of culinary talents, I don’t even have to worry about preparing a dish or requested for help in the kitchen.  At most, I’m asked to contribute a dessert to the spread of food for the day.  I can, after all, bake.

PieSo while I dream of delicious, mouth-watering turkey on Thanksgiving, the meal always comes down to one course for me — Dessert.  And when I think about Thanksgiving Day dessert, my mind always jumps to pie — more specifically pumpkin pie.

I think my association between Thanksgiving and pumpkin pie is a recent one, mostly because my husband always asks for it this time of year.  But growing up, Thanksgiving meant a whole array of pies.

You see, while I am one of only two children, my extended family is quite large.  My dad is one of seven and Thanksgiving at Grandma’s meant that she would fix everyone’s favorite.  So if my favorite pie is peanut butter and she thought there was a chance I might stop by, then she’d make a peanut butter pie.  And so it was for every family member.  In fact, I’m not even sure that some had favorites or they just asked for a different pie so we could have a variety.  Either way, the end result was a whole array of pies to dine on after Thanksgiving dinner (and for days to come) at Grandma’s.

So in honor of my Grandma, I’m interested in knowing what is your favorite pie?  Or at the very least what is your favorite pie to have at Thanksgiving?Why is it your favorite and do you like it fixed a certain way?

My favorite is a freshly baked Peanut Butter Pie with chocolate and whip cream.  It can’t be a store bought, frozen one.  If it’s not fresh, I’d rather pass all together.
Be forewarned, however, that I am in no way volunteering to make everyone’s favorite.  But if I eat of piece of your favorite pie over the holiday, I’ll be happy to think of you.

Happy Eating!

Photo by James. (License: Creative Commons Attribution)

10 Responses to What’s Your Favorite Pie for Thanksgiving

  1. ktpooh3 says:

    lol I’m curious to know what your fav pie taste like. It sounds delicious and I can say I never had one. ummm I’ll have to find a recipe for it.

    My all time fav is meat pie. My mom makes the best meat pie and I haven’t found anyone that can come close to hers. Happy Thanksgiving

  2. Diane says:

    I have read your first response and I have to agree. I came from a canadian family heritage and it was traditional to make meat pis for the holidays. I have made several meat pies, but never like my mother’s.
    My favorite sweet pie is apple or pumpkin. Enjoy the holiday and have a great Thanksgiving Day Feast. Enjoy those pies ! !

  3. vacelts says:

    Katie, peanut butter pie is so smooth and creamy it just melts in your mouth. But it’s got to be fresh.

    My mom makes meat pies too, but I’ve never tried to make one myself.

    Here’s a recipe for New England meat pies (http://www.astray.com/recipes/?show=New%20england%20meat%20pie) not sure if it’s like your mom’s, but it might be worth a shot.

  4. retro says:

    This year my wife decided to have a dry run thanksgiving day to test out her recipes. We soaked the bird in a brine solution she got at William Sonoma, it really kept it moist. OMG, the turkey was so good and I get to do it again in a few days!

  5. Dee says:

    Sweet Potato Pie, the favorite down south, chuckier and meatier than pumpkin, tho similar. If it wasn’t Thanksgiving, it would be Key Lime Pie, of course. Made with real key limes, not the big green persian limes.
    Thanks for an interesting post. I never had a meat pie, except a Jamacian Meat patty, which is more like an empanada.

  6. rcrawford79 says:

    I like Jalapeno cheese bread my lovely wife makes…boy, I hope that and yummy pumpkin pie are on the menu this year!

  7. […] Knowing my lack of talent in the kitchen, I was assigned to bring dessert – pumpkin pie. […]

  8. Molly says:

    I think that the nick-name for Thanksgiving should be “pie day”, not “turkey day”. I always try and make lots of pies: pumpkin pie, pecan pie, pumpkin pecan pie, rum pumpkin pie, apple pie, tarte tatin, chemekatan pie, Marlborough pie, ….. all topped off with fresh-made whipped cream. Some of my pies are on my recipe site. I’m planning on adding more as I get the time. In my younger days I had “Irish triplets” to watch after, but now I down to one very rambunctious 18 month old.

  9. vacelts says:

    Molly, I’m goint to have to check out your recipes. I’d love a recipe for home made whipped cream.

  10. Kalina says:

    please please please, I have got to know the recipe to the picture of that pie. It looks soooo good! My mother-in-law and I are haveing a “bake off” this weekend, preparing for a pie contest in Ironwood, MI. I would love to know the recipe to that picture. I am trying diff. recipes this weekend to help creatge my own pie recipe. I would most appreciate it!
    -Kalina-
    oh yes. My favorite pie is a toss up of upside down apple pie skillet & the ultimate lemon meringe pie!

Leave a comment