Bon Jovi Teaches LaKisha Jones to Rock on ‘American Idol’

May 2, 2007

This column is a little later than usual.  Tuesday night was very tough — one of my favorite ’80s bands on American Idol and one of my favorite ’80s movies, Dirty Dancing, at the theaters.  Thank goodness for my DVR. 

LaKisha JonesTonight’s theme is Bon Jovi songs and Jon Bon Jovi is on hand to mentor the contestants.  One of my favorite genres, tonight’s American Idol really seemed to cause difficulty for some of the contestants. Where is former contestant and rocker Gina Glocksen when you need her?  Unfortunately, her only appearance was in the studio audience.

However, I think that Melinda Doolittle did both Glocksen and Jon Bon Jovi proud.  For her rendition of “Have a Nice Day,” Doolittle channeled her inner Tina Turner and proved that she is a rock star.  I know that I can’t seem to say enough about Doolittle, but every week she comes out and impresses me.  She’s versatile, confident (at least on stage) and she makes me believe in every song she sings.

Gospel girl LaKisha Jones proved that she could rock with a surprising performance of “This Ain’t a Love Song.”  Jones has had trouble that last few weeks.  But tonight she found her inner rocker and proved that she’s still a contender.

On the other hand, Phil Stacy continues to shine after finding his comfort zone during country night.  We saw a confident Stacy belt out “Blaze of Glory” with his own flare.  I have to agree with the judges that Stacy seems to finally have found his groove.

The beat boxer returned tonight with a new hairdo.  A dark-haired Blake Lewis definitely put his own twist on tonight’s performance of “You Give Love a Bad Name.”  Being a huge Bon Jovi fan, I prefer the original version.  However, I have to give Lewis points for creativity.  Where other contestants faltered because rock was not the genre, Lewis took the song and made it his own.  I still think  Lewis is the strongest male contender.

Now on to those contestants that had trouble with tonight’s theme.  Chris Richardson did a nice rendition of “Wanted Dead or Alive,” but it was clear that he wasn’t comfortable with the song.

And unfortunately, Jordin Sparks could not follow up her powerful performance from last week.  Is it possible to be too young for Bon Jovi?  During her performance of “Living on a Prayer,” Sparks seemed uncomfortable in her own skin and she knew it.

This week two get sent home.  If I have to base it on Tuesday night’s performance, then it’s got to be Chris Richardson and Jordan Sparks.


‘Dirty Dancing’ better than I remembered

May 2, 2007

Tonight I hit the theater to catch a special viewing of the timeless classic Dirty Dancing in honor of the film’s 20th anniversary.  As one friend described it, the experience was more intense that I remembered it.

Johnny CastleTo be honest I can’t remember the first time I saw Dirty Dancing.  I know I was a wide-eyed teen, but I can’t actually remember the theater experience.  But the movie has still become one of my favorites

For years I’ve seen it in my living room on VHS, DVD or cable television.  But those viewings were subject to the interruptions of life.  Tonight, I got to lose myself in the movie again.

Dirty Dancing turns 20On the big screen Patrick Swayze was sexier than ever.  Jennifer Grey reminded me of my once youthful figure (before children, even before the freshman 15).  The dance scenes were so hot you could almost feel the steam come off the screen.  And the music still rocked.  You could hear the theater full of people sing along.  We all knew every word.  And when Johnny showed up at the end and said “Nobody puts Baby in a corner,” the theater exploded with cheers. 

I’d love to say that it was like watching it for the first time again.  But lost was my teenage innocence.  Like Baby, I’ve grown up.  The blossoming romance was still beautiful to watch.  The dancing still made me want to get up and dance.  But I’ve already found my “Johnny.”  He’s the one who stayed at home tonight with the kids so I could have this little fling with my youth.  And he’s the one that makes me want to be a better person.

Thanks Dirty Dancing for the memories.